Oh So Skeptical…

Our world is full of skeptics. I am one of them. In order for me to believe something I need to see the logic and reasoning behind it. It is easier to believe as a kid. Santa was real and so was the Easter Bunny and Tooth Fairy. For years I believed that the car couldn’t move without having my seatbelt on. But then we start to grow up. A kid in your class tells you Santa isn’t real and then you find out the quarter that the magician pulled out of your ear was just a trick. We begin to believe that what you see is what you get and somewhere along the line God falls into this category of unrealistic and illogical.

It’s no wonder God calls us to have a childlike faith. It’s much harder with an adult faith. Being the skeptical person that I am, I have to remind myself what I believe in moments of doubt and uncertainty. When things don’t seem logical or make sense. I was sitting at my desk today and randomly wondered what God was doing at that same moment. I thought, no doubt He is much busier than I am dealing with this crazy world, but it’s hard for me to picture it. For a moment, I thought, it doesn’t make sense.

If I stay in my box, small picture, and allow my skeptical nature to come out, God doesn’t make sense to me. As a book or a movie, sure, but in real life, not so much. It’s only when I dig deeper, get out of my box and look at the big picture, that I am reminded that ONLY God makes sense. The problem is that on a day-to-day basis, we go about our lives fairly routinely and forget about the big picture.

 

Big picture for me is this… I leave my house, city, country and planet. I think about how I am living in a universe that is so incomprehensibly huge.  And this universe, full of planets, stars, asteroids and space trash, only has 1 planet that has been so perfectly placed and is so perfectly suitable for sustaining life.  I can go on, but at this point, only an intelligent creator makes sense to me. It is irrational for me to think that our amazingly complex bodies, everything else on this Earth and the entire universe formed from whatever or nothing completely at random with no purpose. Only God makes sense.

I don’t know all the answers and I won’t until I meet Him, but for now I’m relying on my faith to push past those moments of skepticism, my bible to learn about Him and know Him more completely and my personal relationship with Him to mature and strengthen my faith. Not everything in life makes sense. Some things are too big and overwhelming for us to wrap our minds around. God is big and overwhelming, but that doesn’t give us reason to believe He doesn’t exist. There is such a thing as a trillion dollars even though our minds can’t really comprehend that either.  Santa isn’t real but God is.  He is my savior and redeemer.  He is faithful and full of mercy, grace and love. 

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  James 1:2-3

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

Leave a Reply

