Matters of the Heart

My sister so sweetly reminded me that even though I have talked about wearing a heart monitor and having surgery, I have not yet explained why I had to wear a heart monitor or what the surgery is.  So, I figured I would fill everyone in. 

I wore the heart monitor because I was having “episodes” of rapid heart rate.  I  had to wear the monitor for a month, not fun, and it recorded all the going ons of my heart for that period of time.  It managed to capture a couple of the “episodes” so when I went back to my cardiologist he said he felt that I had something called Supraventricular Tachycardia (SVT for short).  Basically, I have extra wiring that causes my heart to beat irregularly which leads me to the surgery. 

I am scheduled to check in to the hospital at 9AM on Monday morning, but I’m not sure when the procedure will actually start.  The gist, they will go in and try to recreate the rapid heart rate and find the extra wires causing it.  When they find them, if they find them, they will get rid of them by means of a radio-frequency ablation.  This should fix the irregular heartbeat.  Hopefully, all this works.  I will have to stay overnight at the hospital for monitoring, but should be discharged the next day.  My doctor said that anytime you are working with the heart you run the risk of blood clots, heart attacks or a stroke but that this procedure is low risk for all of those and she said my risks are lower still because of my age. 

I think that about covers it.  I plan on doing a post about the whole process so look for that sometime next week.  I am not nervous about it yet and I hope it stays that way, but any prayers you can throw my way would be appreciated!

Happy Friday!

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

12 thoughts on “Matters of the Heart”

  1. Bless your heart! (Literally!) I will be praying for you. I had no idea…so, is this kind of like open heart surgery?! It sounds serious…

  2. We have been thinking of you and praying for you these last several weeks leading up to the surgery, and we will definitely be covering you in prayer throughout the day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

