Derby Days

Saturday the women’s ministry at church held a luncheon, and in true Kentucky Derby style we all wore hats. Don’t worry though… being a church event and all there was no gambling. It was just fun to play dress up.

On Friday night, Patty came over and helped me make a Chocolate Bourbon Pecan pie to bring to the luncheon.  We didn’t win the pie contest, but I think we should have 🙂

Photobucket

Photobucket

Saturday we all sat out on the lawn while we at lunch and mingled with everyone.
Photobucket

We sat and Uncle Mo’s table so I was not happy when he got scratched from the race later 😦
Photobucket

There was also a hat contest so everyone was checking out all the other hats and voting on their favorites. I think the three of us had the best hats!

Photobucket

Patty and her tropical themed hat 🙂
Photobucket

The girls and I are ready for next year and we have big plans for our hats! Great friends. Great fun!

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

2 thoughts on “Derby Days”

  1. Love the hats!! So cute! Where do you go to church? I think you may have told me, but I forgot. 😦

Leave a Reply

