Strike that… reverse it

Yep, that’s what I did this morning. I got too close to David’s car while I was pulling out of my driveway and exchanged some paint in the process.

First, let me state my case because I do not have the best reputation when it comes to backing out of driveways. Our driveway is somewhat complicated. It’s straight with a fork to the right going into the garage. Well, our boat is parked in the farthest part of the driveway and David’s car was pulled right in front of the boat. This left me plenty of room to back out of the garage, but not enough room to drive down the driveway without having to drive in the grass to pass David’s car. If you know David, then you also know that he is VERY picky about his yard and I try VERY hard not to mess with it. So, when I pulled out this morning was I looking at how close I was to David’s car? No. I was looking to see how close I was to the grass.

Initially, I thought it was just my mirror that hit and it was pushed in, but when I got to work I realized that was not the case. Basically my whole front passenger door had a nice white stripe along it.

Photobucket

Luckily, my husband is awesome and happens to be pretty good at detailing cars. After he got home he went to work.

Photobucket

First, he started by using a clay bar to take as much of the paint off as he could.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Then he used some compound to work on getting the scratches out. That was followed by some wax. Now it looks like this…

Photobucket

It’s almost impossible to see unless you really look for it. David still wants to use the high-speed polisher to “perfect” it, but I’m just glad the scratch is gone. I have also learned my lesson… the cars are more important than the grass!

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

One thought on “Strike that… reverse it”

  1. You sure do have a great husband…I have always said that. However, I say that because he has one great wife and the mother of my first great grandchild…some day.
    Love you.

Leave a Reply

