Switching Teams

Patty, darling, if you are reading this, we all dislike you for your amazingly soft/hairless legs and arms so you don’t need to read this post as it doesn’t apply to you! Love you!

Here’s a little back story. When I was little (10, 11, 12) I Could. Not. Wait. to be able to shave my legs. My parents, however, didn’t think that I should be in such a rush to grow up so they decided I couldn’t shave until my 13TH birthday. To me, that was like a death sentence. It was terrible. So awful, in fact, that I refused to wear shorts, or anything that showed my legs, for 2 years during 6TH and 7TH grade. I was also desperate enough that I shaved my knees, and only my knees, for period of time somewhere during 6th or 7th grade. My friend, Sarah, talked me into it and I felt like I was at least making a little headway. Going back to the pants issue, I thought it would show my parents how upset I was and how unfair they were being. Looking back, I was only punishing myself because I wore pants every day for 2 years, in Florida, where 100 plus degree days are a common occurrence. And, my parents couldn’t have cared less that I chose to wear jeans when it was 100 degrees outside.

When my 13TH birthday FINALLY arrived, my favorite present was a razor and the blessing from my mom and dad to shave my legs. I also have to add that my mom got mad at me because I guessed that one of my presents would be a razor. We’re big on not knowing presents in our family, but how could I not guess that??? Anyways, I have now been shaving for about 12 years and I. HATE. IT. Lesson learned.

The point of this, aside from reminiscing a little, is to say that I recently switched teams. I left the world of girl razors and joined the boy razor team. I have to thank my friend, Loran, for introducing me to this idea and I can only say I’m sorry I didn’t do it sooner.

Photobucket

My reasoning for the switch is threefold:

1. Girl razors are cheap, plastic-y and maybe I’m weird, I am, but they generally don’t feel comfortable in my hand. Boy razors, in my opinion, are better quality. The one I use is metal so it feels solid, it’s long enough that I don’t feel like I’m gripping it with my fingertips and it doesn’t get slippery so I’m not afraid I’ll drop it and slice off my toe.

2. Boy razors give you a MUCH closer shave. I know I can’t be the only one that gets goose bumps as soon as I get out of the shower and then feel prickly. This drives me CRAZY and it makes shaving feel like a total waste of water, energy and time. I’m not kidding when I say that my legs feel smooth WAY longer!

3. Boy razors are easy to navigate over areas like my knees. I mean, come on, they’re made to shave a face so they have to get extra points in this area.
So, I made the switch and I haven’t looked back since. Shaving still sucks but not quite as bad.

Side note/possible PSA:
My dad told me about 2 years ago that he heard on the radio that razor blades won’t dull if you dry them off after using them. He has since been using the same razor blade and it is not dull. Initially, I didn’t believe him because it just sounded conspiracy theory-ish, but then my mom started doing it. She has been using hers for about a year now. Still isn’t dull. I finally broke and decided to “experiment” with this myself. I have been using the same razor blade since I switched (about 4 months or so) and it is still working perfectly. Take from that what you will and maybe save yourself the ridiculous amount of money those stupid refill razor blades cost.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

4 thoughts on “Switching Teams”

  1. I love our random conversations…how on earth did we get on the conversation of boy razors verse girl razors?! 🙂

  2. I shaved my legs for the first time when I was nine years old. My cousin showed me how at a sleepover at her house. My parents were FURIOUS!!

    I had never thought about using a “boy razor” but I’d heard about drying them off…a tip from Clark Howard, the financial expert on CNN.

    Maybe I’ll switch teams too!

Leave a Reply

