Like a scene from an Alfred Hitchcock movie

Yesterday, I got attacked by a bird. A Mockingbird to be exact. I was standing outside next to my office building talking to my insurance company when it happened. There I was, in mid conversation, when I felt the top of my head get scratched! I looked up and there was a bird literally hovering about a foot from my head.

Normally, I love birds because I think they’re adorable and so cool, but they aren’t usually attacking me either. So, I kinda freaked out because I thought this bird was going to peck my eyes out or something. I grabbed my papers and waved them above my head so he wouldn’t dive bomb me again and got out of there. I looked around for a nest but I couldn’t find one so I was really confused as to why this bird didn’t like me so much.

I went back inside and told my boss about it and after some searching we finally found this…

20110713-085050.jpg

How cute, right? Now the mom bird was totally forgiven for trying to peck my eyes out and I was in rescue mode šŸ™‚ I called the St. Francis Wildlife Rescue and they told me what to do. I either needed to try and get it back in the nest (which I couldn’t find) or leave it be if it wasn’t in danger since the mom knew he was there.

Side note: who knew that it was actually ok to touch a baby bird and that’s totally a myth that you can’t!

Anyways, I checked on him all day and we came to the conclusion that he fell off the curb and couldn’t get back up to the grassy area. After a little prodding from me he hopped over to a lower curb and was able to hop up and join mom bird in the bushes.

Weird story. Happy ending.

Published by

melissa0785

Iā€™m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

One thought on “Like a scene from an Alfred Hitchcock movie”

Leave a Reply

