DIY – Desk Facelift

Lately, I’ve added a bunch of interior design, organizing and home decorating blogs to my daily blogroll and now I’ve been bitten by the DIY bug. For the record, I’m totally excited about it. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve spray painted a thing or two in my day and all our house projects are DIY, but turning something from a thrift store into something totally awesome was a foreign concept to me. So without further ado, my first “major” DIY furniture project.

First, I fell in love with this wall color for my office

Source: potterybarn.com via Melissa on Pinterest

Then, I decided I wanted a white desk to brighten up the room and I found this at pottery barn
Photobucket

Inspiration… Check.

We started with this. No, not pretty, but I liked the size, shape and functionality.
Photobucket

We dragged the desktop out to the garage and traced the old desktop onto a sheet of MDF.
Photobucket

Any Bachelorette watchers out there? Yeah, we’re dorks πŸ™‚
Photobucket

Anyways, after tracing, David cut it out with the saw.
Photobucket

Then we added trim, filled gaps with wood filler, and cut a hole for cords
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

After this, we moved onto the desk itself. We sanded, late into the night, and then primed and painted. We sanded with 150 grit sandpaper and then we painted some more.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

After ALL that, the desk looked like this
Photobucket

So we added the new handles.
Photobucket

Finished product… and a sneak peek at our painted office!
Photobucket

The best part is that it wasn’t $1,000 like the Pottery Barn desk. It was less than $50! I think I can officially say I’m hooked on DIY projects πŸ™‚

Happy Monday!

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

11 thoughts on “DIY – Desk Facelift”

  1. I love the desk! It looks awesome! And I love Monday nights, so I totally got the “dot, dot dot”. πŸ˜‰ By the way, I stumbled upon a blog you may like to check out, whitewaxflower.com. She does a lot of DIY stuff and crafts and is pretty creative. I think she gets a lot of ideas from DesignSponge, which is another great site.

  2. Pingback: 99…… «

Leave a Reply

