The bad kind of silence

Sometimes silence is amazing. There are those people that you’re so comfortable with that you don’t have to fill the air with words and worry what you’ll say next. You can just be, and that is a good silence, a content quiet.

My house was quiet last night, but it was too quiet. It wasn’t a comfortable, happy silence, it was an awkward silence. I can honestly say that David and I have never had a “fight” (like a raise your voice, yell and scream, slam doors kind of thing). It’s just not how we resolve issues and I love that about us, but that doesn’t mean we don’t have discussions/conversations that one or both of us doesn’t like. We had one last night.

Sometimes, we get to a point where we’re done talking about the issue for the time being and don’t want to talk anymore, but we haven’t resolved the issue yet. So it hangs there, and you can’t just go back to normal quite yet… so it’s quiet. It stays quiet until one of us is ready to talk again. We’re not angry with each other or giving the silent treatment, but we’re in that transitional period going from heavy conversation to normal and it’s hard to do.

This is my least favorite kind of silence and I love when it’s over and we can just be, again. Because he is also the person that I have my comfortable, happy quiet with 🙂

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

3 thoughts on “The bad kind of silence”

  1. Hi baby…Just don’t let it go on too long. If you have to, be the one to say the first word, and then have the fun of getting back to your good silence. Love you both.
    Grams

  2. I love that your family responded 🙂 I thought this was a sweet post, and realistic. I agree with grams, I’m often the one who apoligizes first and it’s nice just talking about what happened without emotion and try to get past it together.

Leave a Reply

