Tiles For Miles – Our Guest Bath Remodel

I’m linking up today with Homemaker on a Dime for today’s Roomspiration Blog Hop. Today is bathrooms.

We gutted and re-did our guest bathroom last year. The thing to remember is that we rented the tile saw and it had to be back by about 11AM the next day or we’d have to pay for another day. If you know me, you know that we were NOT paying for another day! We stayed up ALL night, aside from about a 2 hour break, to get the tile finished and the saw back to the Depot. I was still tiling the floor while David was returning the saw. Crazy is how we roll 😉

We kind of forgot a before picture… these are about as close as they get. Just think UGLY!
Photobucket

Photobucket
Yes, he’s really wearing camo.

During…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

This is the point where we completely collapsed into our bed and could. not. move.

After… Whew, glad that’s over! We still have minor details to work on a year later (the height of the shelf, popcorn ceilings and the multicolored light switches for example)! The decorating is still a work in progress as well… but that part is never done right?!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Happy Friday!

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

30 thoughts on “Tiles For Miles – Our Guest Bath Remodel”

  1. Way to get the hubster working! LOL, he is pretty handy, huh? 🙂 This is gorgeous! I loved the ‘fish eye’ photo. I want one of those lenses! I wanted that white subway tile in my kitchen. My husband did not. Oh well! It is beautiful! It’s so much fun to see everyone’s before and after shots. It’s pretty close to a happily ever after as it gets! 😉 Thank you so much for joining Roomspiration! Glad to have you along and great to meet you. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Do I spy an aussie pup in the background there? =) hehe! Love the renovation — it looks amazing! and this is yet another reason why i’m dying to get my hands on some subway tile. in the bathrooms…. kitchen… all over! =)

    1. She’s actually a border collie, but everyone thinks she’s an Aussie bc of her coloring 🙂 I say go for the subway tile… I love the look even if they take forever to do!

    1. I was wondering where you got the vanity and what it is called, it looks like the right size & placement for my bathroom.
      Yours turned out great.

      1. Thank you 🙂 We actually used the vanity we already had. Sanded it, painted it white and put new hardware on them. Sorry I’m not more help.

  3. HI! Where did you find the mirror? It’s a gorgeous statement piece! It would be perfect in our powder room. Similar Style!! Thank you!

  4. Love, love, love it! Can you help me out a little with your process? For the paint, were the walls textured initially or is that texture from the sea sponge roller? Did you even use that? Was using that paint fairly straight forward? The directions state not to use on textured walls or ceilings which is what I have unfortunately. Very mixed reviews online which is how I found your photos. Yours turned out amazing. Also, is that the easiest way to redo tile? Just go down to studs and start over? We want to tile our bath, but after redoing the kitchen backsplash we weren’t as eager. We tried to use a crowbar and hammer on each tile and ended up destroying the drywall anyway. My husband said after we probably should have just cut out the drywall to begin with which appears to be similar to what you did?

    1. Thank you! The walls were previously orange peeled, but we took down a towel bar so we had to reapply the orange peel. The paint is from the Ralph Lauren Metallics line in Iron Gate and I thought it was very simple. Pay attention to the directions that you’re rolling it as you’ll see lines if you don’t, but other than that not a problem. The textured walls seemed fine, too. As for the tile it was so stuck to the cement board there was no way we’d get it off and it still be intact. It makes a huge mess, but I’m pretty sure that’s the way to go unless you’re ripping up tile from the floor. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

