Won’t You Be My Neighbor

Neighborhoods are an interesting place… some are too cookie cutter and restrictive (think Pleasantville) and others are way too have it your way. I think ours is in the middle of the spectrum. Either way, as a homeowner it’s not just your house you think about, it’s the whole neighborhood, because that affects your home value.

David and I live in a neighborhood and it’s really hard to take our dogs for a walk without being the neighborhood police and saying the following…

“wow, they need to fix that landscaping”

“seriously?” because the artsy, free-spirited neighbor put painted “statues” of feet sticking out of the ground ALL. OVER. THEIR. FRONT. YARD. (and no this was not in the spirit of Halloween).

“if they would just paint that it would look SO much better”

“is that a couch?”

And so on and so forth.

In our defense, we get just as excited when we see our neighbors fixing up, renovating and improving! I got so excited a week or 2 ago because one particular house that really needed some yard maintenance FINALLY got all their trees and bushes trimmed and it looked soooo good! It’s the little things really.

All this talking though and what good does it do? It’s really not up to us what these people do and while I’m sure everyone LOVES our house (kidding, kidding) what people do to their house is unfortunately up to them. I just wish people had better taste sometimes… or they chose to live out in the country with acres and acres to themselves so they can stick their feet statues wherever their little heart desires and no one would care in the slightest. And we apparently need to move into the more restrictive (Pleasantville) neighborhood side of the spectrum 😉

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

3 thoughts on “Won’t You Be My Neighbor”

  1. Our HOA would be all over the feet in the yard thing! I appreciate the HOA rules at times, but like with everything you have the people in the neighborhood who feel it is their duty to call in and make sure that you followed the “rules.” Or, like our neighbor experienced, people who call and complain because the pergola in the front yard “is for the back yard not the front yard.” Yeah, I’m rather confident the feet would not have a chance here! Haha.

  2. Try living next to the folks who decided to take every Home and Garden and HGTV idea and mishmash them together into their own little jungle….except its my little jungle too when I go to take out my trash, get my mail, come and go from my house….oh joy! Even though they violated the covenants the HOA has done nothing…it’s an eyesore and every neighbor I have spoken with about it thinks it’s tacky and over the top for our neighborhood. Funny that you mention living out in the country cause that is where I said they should have bought instead of a nice manicured non-jungled neighborhood…ha!

Leave a Reply

