Let Them Eat Cake

Remember my post about this cakePhotobucket

Well, that cake was actually a practice run for our big reveal to our parents. I made two 2-layer cakes each with a pink layer and a blue layer with white frosting in between. I also have to note that I baked both of these cakes while getting hit with my first bout of All Day Sickness. It was not a pleasant experience and I didn’t eat ANY of either cake. Luckily, our timing was perfect because it was also the weekend we were going home to celebrate David’s birthday so everyone just fell into the “I baked a cake for David’s birthday” trap.

Initially we wondered if they would get it, but we figured pink and blue is a pretty dead give away.

My parents were first and it happened like this….

First of all, my brother is Axle from The Middle. To a T. I also want to point out that my mom is very embarrassed by her choice of words (“freaking pregnant”). I happen to think it’s super cute and hey, it was the excitement of the moment. Notice my dad is as unemotional as ever. If you know my dad, this does not come as a shock you as he is probably the most even keel person you will ever meet, but you can see some emotion in his face (love you daddy). David was the cameraman and he zoomed in to try to see if there were any tears… there weren’t any šŸ˜‰

David’s parents had to wait until Saturday night to find out because his Grandparents were making the drive from the Villages (ie: crazy retirement community in Ocala, FL) for his birthday dinner and we wanted them to find out at the same time. Their cake reveal happened like this…

I think it’s safe to say that they had no idea what was going on. David’s dad actually told us later he thought that we were telling them we were getting another dog. Nope, not quite.

I wanted something a little different and I think this was a really fun way to do it. I will never forget my mom’s reaction and I’m so glad we have it on video.

Published by

melissa0785

Iā€™m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

5 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Cake”

  1. Awww, that was cute!!! šŸ™‚ And I have a friend who’s parents live in the Villages. They love going down & visiting because they said it’s like it’s own little compound full of rich retirees, haha.

Leave a Reply

