DIY Headbands

I love all the little headbands you see on Etsy and in pictures on Pinterest, but I wasn’t super excited about paying $10+ per headband when I knew I could make them pretty easily. So, I went to Hobby Lobby bought my supplies and spent my Friday night making headbands… until my glue gun broke.

Example

Source: jonesdesigncompany.com via Stacey on Pinterest

Here’s what I bought

Photobucket

Elastic, felt backers, and totally making life easy a bunch of flowers from the SCRAPBOOK SECTION! I already had a needle and thread and glue gun.

I started by measuring and cutting the elastic. I measured the elastic 11″ unstretched and picked this number after googling “newborn head circumference.” My elastic has a good amount of stretch in it in case baby girl has a big head, too! Once I cut the elastic I sewed the ends together.

Then, I took the part with the seam and used that area to glue my flowers (so the rest of the headband is seamless). I took a felt backer and hot glued it to the underside of the elastic (for smaller flowers I cut the felt a little).

Cutting the felt
Photobucket

Gluing the felt to the elastic
Photobucket

Then I added a little more glue to the top and pressed my flower on top.

Adding the flower
Photobucket

The back after the flower was attached
Photobucket

I made 3 headbands, and then my glue gun broke.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Obviously I don’t have a newborn head to test them on, but I think they looked pretty cute on Stewy! Sorry, Stewart.
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

The best part is that I bought all the stuff I needed for about $8 and still have enough elastic and flowers for several more headbands. So much cheaper than buying them! Now, that I’ve done it I have plans for some more intricate ones… but I need a new glue gun first!

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

4 thoughts on “DIY Headbands”

  1. They are so cute, honey. Miss K will look adorable in them all. Looks real cute on Stewie. Won’t be long now baby. I hope you’re feeling okay. Love you.

Leave a Reply

