It’s raining, it’s pouring…

When it rains it pours… and everything is breaking.

We turned our air on for the first time last weekend and we got nothing. The fan turned on, but nothing. So we called our beloved AC guy and he came and fixed it for us. The capacitor (we like to refer to it as the Flux capacitor) shorted out. Normally, this wouldn’t have been a big deal as we typically keep our house set to 78, but I’m pregnant. Like super pregnant. So don’t mess with my air right now. $141 later I am as non-sweaty as I can be at 8 months pregnant when it’s 85-90 degrees outside.

So the air got fixed on Monday. I got home from work on Tuesday, pulled into the driveway and I hit the garage door opener… it went up… about 2 inches. A wave went through the garage door that made it look very unstable and that was it. A spring broke. Awesome. So the garage door is stuck at 2 inches and I now have to drag my big, pregnant self out the back door (and walk through the dewy, poop filled grass) or out the front door (which has A LOT of steps) to get to my car. Seriously, not cool. The garage door guy is coming today to fix the springs. About $200 later I shall be able to enter my house through the garage.

David called me today and his truck just turned off while he was at a stoplight. It started right back up and it’s been fine, but his 4runner is old (it’s his baby) so it’s time for some maintenance. Especially with the new job and him traveling more. He’s been taking my car so I’ve been driving his car a lot and I’m not very fond of the idea of breaking down in the middle of the road. The dollar amount here we will leave blank.

Let’s hope that this follows the rule of 3 and the breaking and the buck stops here.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

2 thoughts on “It’s raining, it’s pouring…”

  1. Hi baby…so sorry for all the “raindrops” that keep fallin’ on my little mama. I know how that would be going through ALL my pregnancies with no air! So uncomfortable. Especially with Aimee. It was the hottest May and she was the biggest baby…10#14oz. Now that’s a whole lotta baby.
    It has been very warm here as well, but I haven’t (although i wanted to yesterday) turned on the air. If was 88 here yesterday, This is the 8th straight day of 80’s weather. Love it though… great winter weather.
    Love you sweetheart. I am so thankful you blog…and I am so thankful I was there to visit you and see exactly where you had to walk down the steps…hehe. Next time I see you guys, I will officially be introduced to my first great granddaughter, K! Can’t wait baby.
    See you then.
    Your Grams

  2. Yuck! I had the same bad luck when it came time to turn the AC on. I usually don’t turn it on until around May because I am comfortable with no AC, but my boyfriend will drip sweat. So I go to turn the AC and he tells me it’s been on for 3 weeks… But, the thermostat is set at 75 and it’s 85 in the house. So basically the thing has been running for 3 weeks and never getting cold, so it never shut off! Thankfully, we have a family friend who does ACs for a living and he came while we were out of town last weekend and fixed it. But he won’t return my call to tell me how much I owe him! I’ll treat it as a blessing in disguise for now!! Good luck with the car!

Leave a Reply

