Destin for the Weekend

I’m a beach girl all the way and that’s 1 of the things I love about living in Florida, beaches everywhere! As long as I’ve lived in Florida I’d never been to Destin, except for a shopping trip, so I was super excited when we planned a fairly spur of the moment trip to Destin. It’s about 2.5 hours from our house and we left early Saturday morning.

When we got there we grabbed lunch and did some shopping.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

David loves to make me take awkward pictures (typically involving camo or me wearing camo) because he knows I hate it… I aim to please.

We stayed at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, so after shopping we checked into the hotel and checked everything out. We spent the rest of the weekend and Monday just relaxing.

David did A LOT of fishing (he was in heaven… He was able to fish in stocked ponds, the bay, and the ocean all in 1 weekend). I was able to lay around and read while he fished.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Photobucket

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

He actually almost caught this guy… (see him, the little blue crab)

Photobucket

I really did catch my first fish, but I wouldn’t hold it so David held it for the picture. When I was reeling the bait in I said to him, “I think it’s caught on something” and David starts yelling, “yeah, A FISH” I’m not sure he’ll ever stop making fun of me for that one.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

This was at the marina
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

At breakfast… this was insanely good. Cinnamon roll french toast with berries and whip cream. And I’m pregnant so yes, I’m allowed to take pictures of my food!
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

we hung out at the beach… though I was going nowhere near a bathing suit at 35 weeks pregnant so it was just more walking around and fishing.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Biggest group of pelicans I think we’ve ever seen.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

And we had way too much fun hanging out with the birds at Starbucks. They ate right out of our hand!
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

When we left David said, “I think we should retire here” so I’d say it was a good trip. I’d go back any day 🙂

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

One thought on “Destin for the Weekend”

  1. Great pix…you guys are such good photogs! Looks like you had a wonderful weekend. Next time you’ll have to bring baby girl. Love you so much.

Leave a Reply

