Kennedy’s Birth Story – Part 1

David and I went to see Dr. F on Thursday, the 24th, and pretty much nothing had changed since the previous Friday. I was still about a centimeter and soft which was not what I wanted to hear at 40 weeks 4 days pregnant. Dr. F (who by the way is amazing and totally on board with my natural birth plan) said she’d give me til the following Wednesday (41 weeks 3 days) to go into labor on my own, but had me schedule a non-stress test for Sunday, the 27th, when I’d be 41 weeks. I decided that since my mom would be coming into town I wanted to schedule the induction for Monday, the 28th, so she’d be here with me longer rather than wait to be induced on Wednesday. So, the date was set and we all continued to pray that I’d go into labor naturally.

My mom got into town Friday around 5pm and I was having my regular, old contractions. Nothing time able or painful just annoying. After dinner, David and I went for our usual walk and I was telling David how tired I was being “so full of baby.” As we walked, I started getting more and more contractions, but still didn’t think much of it (I think I had resigned myself to being induced). When we got back, we started watching Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (not good) and I decided that the contractions were actually time able and so I started timing them with an app I downloaded. They were about 5 minutes apart and about a minute long. After the movie was over I went to the bathroom and let’s say there was other I’m going into labor evidence. So I said, “well, maybe we’ll have a baby sooner than we thought.” (I’m pretty much positive now that I was waiting for my mom to get here before I could go into labor. I actually had a dream several weeks back that my mom came running in the delivery room with no pants on to deliver the baby and she almost didn’t make it so I was obviously worried that she wouldn’t be there.)

I got in bed around 1am, but only stayed in bed until 2am because at that point laying down during the contractions was getting pretty uncomfortable. I got up and made a bowl of Lucky Charms and my mom woke up at the point so we hung out at the kitchen table just chatting. At 4am, I decided to get in the bath for a little bit. I got out around 5am and woke David up to start getting ready to head to the hospital. I planned to stay at home as long as possible, but by now the contractions were about 2.5 or so minutes apart and I had to focus through them so I wanted to get settled at the hospital before they got worse.

David and I got to the Women’s Pavilion at the hospital around 6am and the lady at the desk said, “so what’s happening” and I said, “I hope I’m in labor.” We filled out paperwork and I signed forms while having contractions and then we sat down and waited for them to call me back to triage. I went back and they checked me for the first time and I was 4cm and almost fully thinned out. The nurse actually freaked me out because she initially said I was only 1.5cm. Thank God she was wrong. Since I was at 4cm and in active labor they admitted me and we called my mom to tell her I’d be staying and they could head over. Not much longer after that we met my nurse Beth (love her) who took us to the delivery room.

… to be continued

Published by

melissa0785

Iā€™m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

5 thoughts on “Kennedy’s Birth Story – Part 1”

  1. Hi Sweetheart….Thanks so much for blogging..I just loved it during your pregnance and now I feel like I am reading a book and have to wait for the next chapter. I hope all is going good for you guys. See you soon.
    Lots and lots of love to you all.
    Grams

Leave a Reply

