Big, comfy couch

We’ve been in our house for 4 years now… crazy to think. The couches we’ve used in our living room for the last 4 years, David got for his apartment, in 2007, after we graduated. I think everyone hates them. Well, everyone that knows us well enough to not have to be polite has told us they hate them. They’re quite possibly the most uncomfortable things you’ll ever sit on and the backs are just HUGE pillows that take up 97% of the entire couch so there’s really no where to sit. Aside from that, they’re that suede-ish whatever-you-call-it fabric and we have two dogs… that shed… ALOT. Can you see where this is going? I will say that looks wise, they did great, but David did not give the comfort level too much consideration when he picked them out.

Photobucket

My whole pregnancy I was dreading bringing Kennedy home because of the dog hair. Then, while I was cleaning one super pregnant night I thought, “wow, I can’t put her on the couch because she’ll be full of hair.” Right then I decided I’d had enough of the stupid things and I wanted new ones. I asked David if we could go look for new couches and he said yes, BUT they had to be leather (not my first choice) and durable enough to withstand a baby and 2 dogs. So, that Sunday after church we went couch shopping. Long story short… meet our new sectional.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Even though the room seems super empty and sad, I’m kind of in love. It’s really comfy and we actually use our living room now!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Stewart is also a big fan. The back of the couch is very similar to my parent’s couch and sleeping there is his favorite place in the world. When the couch got delivered the first thing he did was jump up and lay on the first cushion and after about 15 seconds he moved to the next … he repeated this until he got to the last cushion. Smart puppy, he was deciding which cushion he like best!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Now we’ve got the couch part taken care of, but we also got rid of the chair and we didn’t get the matching one. I like a more pieced together look so I’ll be on the hunt for one or two of those. I’m also excited to actually decorate the living room now that I don’t hate the couches. AND yay for throw pillows!!! I could never use them before because the old couches were ALL pillow!

Goodbye uncomfortable, hairy, old couches and chair… I will NOT miss you!

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

2 thoughts on “Big, comfy couch”

  1. Wow, they are gorgeous, you guys! I love that nice comfy chair, too. How do your puppies like the new feel? Miss and love you so much. Right when I was doing a word with David, I got that virus message…..again! The guy who came to fix it the first time was there for an hour and the message never showed. He said if I wanted he could take my number and he could connect to my computer without coming out. So I called and when I got home from being at Mels all day, it was fixed. Nice. So now I’ll go back to Words.

  2. Josh and I have been looking at couches just like your old ones, so thanks for the review – we’ll make sure we test anything like that before we buy it!! We have couches from my parent’s old sitting room. Basically they’re small and have no stuffing. Oh, and they’re navy, hunter, and cranberry stripes – yuck! We can’t wait to buy a new couch! Did you go to a furniture store for yours?

Leave a Reply

