Sleep

Sleep is a funny thing. When you’re little, you hate it because you may be missing out on something great. So you fight the naps, and need water, and have to go to the bathroom to avoid going to bed.

Then you get older and wiser and you realize you love sleep. You LOVE naps, and sleeping until noon or three o’clock is a great way to spend a Saturday.

And then you have a baby.

All of the sudden your time is not yours anymore and that little bundle of joy could care less if you usually go to bed at 11pm. My little bundle of joy doesn’t have a bedtime yet (last night she was WIDE awake until after midnight), so guess what? Neither do I. She still ends up sleeping on my chest at night (not for lack of trying – she hates being on her back and loves being on her tummy and I’m too afraid of SIDs to let her sleep like that) and you know what? I might not be sleeping great, because I’m totally paranoid that I’ll randomly toss her off the bed or roll over her, but a part of me totally loves it.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I love that she feels safe with me. I love that even though we’re technically asleep it’s a little bit of extra time with my baby girl. I love how she fits so perfectly like a little puzzle piece and I love how her little arms and legs wrap around me.

It may not be ideal as far as my sleep is concerned, but I know she’ll grow out of it soon enough and I’ve got plenty of time to catch up on sleep.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

One thought on “Sleep”

  1. Melissa, I loved this post. I have to say my babies slept with me and some I have to admit lasted longer than others and longer than they probably should have. I just loved it also and it becomes harder to break if everyone involved loved it. Ha. I agree with you take all the snuggles you can get because they grow way to fast. She looks so content and adorable.

Leave a Reply

