Cloth Questions

What about the cost to clean the diapers? It’s still cheaper even considering the costs. Here’s a pretty little spreadsheet with my costs (based on Tallahassee utility rates and the energy/water usage of my washer and dryer). I air dry the diapers so I won’t usually have the dryer costs, but they’re there.

clothvsdisposablechart

Isn’t it so much extra work? I don’t really think so. Yes, there are extra steps involved, but they’re easy… like dumping the bag of diapers into the washing machine. My washing machine is also programmable so I don’t have to reset it for the additional rinse so that helps. I stuff the diapers when I’m doing lazy stuff like watching TV so it isn’t taking up any extra time and then the diapers are ready to use just like a disposable when I need them.

It’s gross… there’s so much poop! I guess this is more of a comment than a question, but if you have a baby you already know cloth or disposable you’re dealing with A LOT of poop. If you don’t have a baby now you know. I’ll also say that we’d been having disgusting blow-out diapers with disposables and we haven’t had one yet with cloth.

How do you clean them?  All the diapers are thrown in together, but separate from my other laundry. My washing machine is set to do a cold rinse, hot wash, cold rinse. The last rinse is to make sure all the detergent is out of the diaper and clean out the washing machine. At some point I’ll experiment with washing on cold as well, but this seems to work well for now.

How did you decide which diapers to use? Once I figured out the lingo, it was easy for me to decide on pockets and some all-in-ones because they’re the closest to disposables as far as use. As far as brands go I got a few diapers in several brands to see which ones I liked the best. So far, I’m loving fuzzibunz!

That’s all I can think of for now, but I’ll update if I get any others.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

6 thoughts on “Cloth Questions”

  1. I am glad that there are Moms that still use cloth diapers because I thought I was going to be one of them and I have to admit I was one of those who thought I was going to and I gave up after 1 week. I look back now and wish I would have tried a little harder but it is to late now so I want to say Thank you to you and all the Moms that stick with it. Our land fills are filled with enough pampers.

  2. My thoughts exactly. Granted we’ve only done one load of CD laundry so far, but we are loving it! We haven’t used a disposable since her first day in the hospital. So proud of ourselves. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

