We Survived…

Sort of. I cried all morning getting ready, driving there, and leaving her. Definitely should have gone with waterproof mascara.

Photobucket

Once I got to work it was better… but then I went over there to feed her at lunch and she was crying… she wouldn’t take her bottle. So, I fed her and snuggled with her for a while.

Photobucket

I went back to work and the same thing happened… she wouldn’t take her afternoon bottle… so I went over there at 4pm and brought her back to my office with me. Because that’s what you do when your baby won’t eat and you work until 5.

Photobucket

We started the day like this…

Photobucket

We ended it like this…

Photobucket

Everyone says it’s harder on me than her, but I’m thinking we both had a pretty crappy day and that makes it even worse.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

9 thoughts on “We Survived…”

  1. I went back to work a couple weeks ago and my son did the same thing. He refused to drink anything from his bottle all day. Oh yeah, and he didn’t take any naps either. The second day he would take a couple ounces from his bottle at each feeding, but still not great and he took like one half hour nap. The third day he took a couple naps and still drank a couple ounces here and there. The fourth day he took great naps and drank 4 ounces at each feeding. Since then he has done wonderfully, it was just an adjustment at first.

    I think there is just so much excitement going on with all the other little kids that they can’t focus on eating haha! Anyway, I’m telling you all of htis so you realize that you’re not alone. Lots of babies have a hard time right away, but it DOES get better. I cried the entire first day, the second day only a couple times, the third only once and since then I haven’t cried at all. It just takes time to adjust to the new “normal.” I still miss my little guy so much during the day, but picking him up from daycare is the absolute best part of my day!

    I know it can be frustrating when everyone just keeps telling you “Oh it will get easier!” but honestly, it does. Hang in there!

  2. Honey, that had to be the hardest day you will ever have to go through. I am so thankful that your work is right next to the day care. Do not feel one bit bad about going there to feed her…and take your time about it. That will only be for a season, and everything is so new to her. Just be there. I can’t wait to see you guys and hold her, too. Love you so much.
    Grams

  3. She is so sweet in that cute little outfit! I feel like this is the day that most working moms dread the most so now that it is over it can only get better from here. I go back at the end of Sept. and the more time I spend at home, the less I am looking forward to it. I don’t know your reasons for going back to work, if you have to vs if you want to, but in either situation God promises to walk through that with you. So rely on his strength to bring you patience until it gets easier. And don’t let yourslf feel bad about having to drop her off while you work. There are lots of hard things about parenting, and just because you have to struggle through some times doesn’t mean you are doing anything wrong. You sound like a pretty awesome mom to me 🙂 I’ll be praying this transition gets easier for you both!

Leave a Reply

