This Day Last Year

Labor Day used to just be a day off to me, but now, it’ll be my favorite non-holiday, holiday… forever.

1 year ago today, David and I woke up and he said, “when do you think you can take a test?” and I said, “I dunno, maybe towards the end of the week.” I thought it was too early, but he put a bug in my head. I didn’t tell him, but I went to the bathroom and took one. I waited for a few seconds (I think it said to wait for 30 seconds and up to 2 minutes), but thought it was negative so I threw it out. I wasn’t disappointed, it was just too early, and we weren’t in a rush.

Probably 10 minutes later, I, for some reason, decided to go check the test again and when I pulled it out of the trash I saw it… the FAINTEST second line. I stared at that thing forever, even took pictures of it to see if it showed up differently on my phone, and finally, I decided that there really was a second line.

Well, now I NEEDED to take another test, but I also needed an excuse to be hanging out in the bathroom all morning. I went to the office to see what David was doing (trying to act normal of course) and he was on the computer, so I told him I was going to take a shower.

Repeat test taking. Repeat scrutinizing. Repeat second line.

I didn’t cry, I didn’t freak out, I didn’t jump up and down… I’m not sure I really believed it yet. I wondered if I should tell David or wait a few days to make sure. Of course, I decided there was no way I was going to keep that secret so I went to the office and pulled a book out of the closet. It was called The Expectant Father and I bought it months ago as my way of telling him. He wasn’t paying attention, so I set it on the desk in front of him and said, “you should probably start reading this.” He picked it up and looked at me and said, “REALLY?!” The first thing he did was put his ear to my stomach… like he was trying to hear something. Then he needed proof himself, so we went to go look at the tests… and he wasn’t sure he saw a second line (I told you they were faint). He also didn’t like the tests I bought (I don’t mess around, they were hospital-grade, more sensitive than a drug-store, tests, but he thought they looked “cheap”), so off to the store we went to buy more. I took 2 more that day, and they both told me we were going to have a baby.

I put an app on my phone and calculated the due date that night, Monday the 5th, Labor Day. I was 3 weeks and 1 day pregnant and our baby was due May 20, 2012.

I continued taking tests for the next week or so, until they ran out. I storpped when I finally used the digital tests and they both told me in plain english…PREGNANT. I told the baby “get comfy and I’ll keep you safe” and we started lovingly referring to him/her as “blastocyst” (pre-Guppy) because that’s what The Bump said the little ball of cells turning into Kennedy were called. I had to wait until I was 8 weeks for my first REAL doctor appointment and those weeks just DRAGGED by… waiting. Waiting to see the little gummy-bear-looking-baby with the flickering heartbeat. Luckily (I say that now), I got sick for the first time at 5 weeks 6 days and that made the waiting easier. We got our first look at Kennedy at 8 weeks 2 days and they gave me a due date of May 20, 2012.

There really were 2 lines on that first test 5 weeks ago, and now I was sure it of.

Labor Day… started the journey of a lifetime.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

4 thoughts on “This Day Last Year”

  1. I didn’t know that’s when you found out, too! Labor Day last year is when we found out that Luke was on his way as well :o)

Leave a Reply

