Real Caramel Apples… not grapes

The caramel grapes… good, but caramel apples… they’re amazing. I think my favorite part of fall is caramel apples, but the store-bought ones just aren’t good. The apples are old and the core is usually really brown… kind of gross. So, we decided to make them ourselves. We winged it. They ended up tasting awesome, but we did have some issues with the caramel and the chocolate sliding down off the apples.

Key players… caramel, chocolate, apples, peanuts, candy, and sticks.

It was really as easy as washing the apples, inserting the sticks, melting the chocolate and caramel, and dipping and rolling the apples.

Photobucket

Photobucket
(our sticks were too long so we cut them)

Photobucket
(caramel pre-melting)

Photobucket

(crush peanuts/candy)

Photobucket

(dip the apples)

Photobucket

Photobucket

(roll the apples)

Photobucket

bam. done!  Or you can repeat the process with chocolate… I’d recommend it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

So good!

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

6 thoughts on “Real Caramel Apples… not grapes”

  1. Yummy, You are making my mouth water!!! I used to have a neighbor who made these and gave out at Halloween, I always liked them but alot of the kids that lived on our street only wanted candy. (greedy little kids) haha, Just kidding, we were taught to be Thankful for what we got and the lady was eldery so I thought it was great that she took the time to make them.

Leave a Reply

