Band Aids and Day Care

Normally, I’m super impressed with Kennedy’s daycare. Yesterday… they didn’t seem like the smartest bunch.

I got a call from the director around 9:30 or so and she assured me Kennedy was fine, but they wanted to let me know that she had a red spot on the top of her head and it was circular. She didn’t mention it, but I’m assuming she was thinking of ringworm. I told her I had seen it earlier that morning and I wasn’t sure what it was from, but I didn’t think it was anything. I asked them to keep an eye on it, because what else do you say when your kid’s daycare is being all hypochondriac on you?

Fast forward a few hours to when I walked into Kennedy’s day care room and saw this…

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

That’s right. They put a band aid on the little red spot. Apparently, after getting off the phone with me the director told Kennedy’s teacher to “cover it up” and that was the only thing she could think to do. ARE. WE. SERIOUS. RIGHT. NOW? So my baby was wearing a band aid-yamaka and I just sat there wondering 3 things:

What was the logic behind this?

How the heck was I supposed to get the band aid-yamaka off without ripping out her tiny hairs and leaving two bald patches on her head in the shape of said band aid.

Why was the band aid floating on top of her hair and not even pressed down to actually attach it to her scalp?

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I didn’t get any answers. I didn’t want to know. She ended up wearing it the whole day and when I got her home I spent 15 minutes prying tiny hairs off the band aid. Eventually it came off… hair intact. I’m sure 20 years from now I’ll look back at this and laugh, but for now, I’m still a little speechless.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

6 thoughts on “Band Aids and Day Care”

  1. What the heck?! I don’t get why they thought that would help anything? Her poor little hair…I would have been so worried about how I was going to get that bandaid off without ripping her hair out too!

  2. Wow, Are you kidding me? I would have thought they could have asked you well having you on the phone if they were so concerned if this was something that you thought they should do to her. If they were so concerned that it was something that would spread to others maybe they should have had you or someone come to take her out. Really what goes on these days that people (that we trust with our children) some how don’t think about the outcome before doing such drastic things? I, like you would have been very upset. Poor little thing, she isn’t even old enough to think that sticking band aids all over her is a cool thing to do yet!

Leave a Reply

