My New Dishes {thanks, Ikea}

Wedding registries are a tricky business. You don’t know what you need until you need it and those scanner-guns will make you do crazy stuff! I say this because I picked out and registered for the worst dinnerware set possible. I picked a square {trendy 4 years ago}, brown and teal {trendy 4 years ago} set and it was just not a smart move.

I hate them now for 3 reasons:

They’re brown so every scratch and water drop shows and they just look dirty and gross all the time. I always have to tell people that the dishes are clean even though they don’t look like it.

I didn’t like the look of them after about a year.

They’re not LEVEL. Is there anything more annoying than sitting at a table with 1 leg shorter than the other? Not really, no. Try eating off a plate like that.

So, I’ve been looking {randomly} for a new set for over a year now. I wanted classic and simple and I should have known, Ikea to the rescue… I found my new dishes there and I’m so, so happy with this new set!

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

I was hesitant to buy a cheap set, for fear of having another issue with uneven plates, so I only got a serving for 6, but I’ll be back at Ikea when I go home for Christmas to stock up. Oh, and if you’ll be registering for plates anytime soon… learn from my mistake.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

3 thoughts on “My New Dishes {thanks, Ikea}”

  1. They’re nice! I like that set! I never knew Ikea had pretty dinnerware. We registered for basic white stuff but didn’t get them. I went to C&B after our wedding and got their basic white dinnerware and we love it!

  2. I really have been wanting to go their but the closest one is 3 + hours away so I am still dreaming of making that trip soon. I wish you could order online from there. Everyone that goes say they spend way more than they had planned. Can’t wiat to go!!

Leave a Reply

