Looking Back

If I look back at my life before Kennedy, when it was just David and I…

it was,

Slower, like living in the country instead of the city, no rush.

There was this thing called FREE time.

I didn’t feel guilty for going to the gym or dinner with a friend, or anywhere.

I stayed up later, but got more sleep.

I spent more time with David.

I read books

I had hardly any responsibility and we could do anything, go anywhere… whenever.

I didn’t have a laundry list of things to do just to get ready for the next day.

I could keep going… but I’ll stop.

There are days when I miss how laid back our life used to be.

When all the things that need to be done will take far more time than I have.

When all I really want to do is sit on the couch and do nothing.

But.

As much as I cherish that time, just the two if us. Even though I’ll always think back to it and smile. My life before Kennedy isn’t worth going back to for a second.

Creating a family. Holding your baby in your arms. Watching them grow.

I understand now why God says that children are a blessing.

Life is harder now. Absolutely. More responsibility. Less time. But. My heart is so full of love and my time is so much better spent. A baby changes everything.

And it’s so worth it.

Children are a gift from the LORD; they are a reward from him.
Psalm 127:3 NLT

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

5 thoughts on “Looking Back”

  1. So true! Your daughter is a few days younger than my daughter and it’s so nice to know other Moms feel the same way! There are so many of your posts that describe our life as well! Its the hardest, but most rewarding thing we’ll ever do! Thanks for making me feel not so crazy some days!

  2. It is so true, it is almost sureal how in just 1 day your life can change in away that noone could ever describe to you and make you understand. There wasn’t anything in this world that would make me as happy as the day I dilevered my babies. It was stressful at times but those years go by so fast and then you become a grandmother and things seem to start to slow down again. Life=one big circle of love

Leave a Reply

