DIY: Ball Jar Snow Globes

I saw these last Christmas, but I don’t know who to give credit to for the DIY on this… either way, I’m not the first to do this.

Photobucket

I would have done these last year, but my Christmas/winter decorations go away on New Year’s Day so I figured I’d just wait and do them this year. I love them, and I’m so excited I finally have some at my house {without the stupid expensive anthropolgie price tag}.

So, first things first. Supplies.

Photobucket

Ball Jars { 3 of varying sizes}
Tiny Trees {I hit up Hobby Lobby by the model train section}
Snow {salt and glitter – yeah they’re not in the picture}
Glue Gun {or some other adhesive}

Decide the placement of your trees on the ball jar lid. Hot glue that spot and stick the tree in it.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Repeat this step until all your trees are glued.

Photobucket

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Put the glass over the trees just to make sure they fit

Photobucket

Add salt. I used salt because it’s crystalized, snow-ish, but you can use whatever your heart desires.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Add glitter. For a little extra sparkle.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Put the top on the Ball Jar and tip it over. I tried to keep my “snow” off my tree and just let it run down the side of the glass.

And you’re done!

I set them on a tray {because everything looks better on a tray!}. It’s quite possibly of the cutest, Christmas DIY I’ve ever seen!

Photobucket
Photobucket

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

2 thoughts on “DIY: Ball Jar Snow Globes”

Leave a Reply

