What She’s Eating

For the first 6 months, we did all breast milk, all the time. I did this for several reasons, but mainly because the AAP, WHO, and other health organizations recommend no solids {cereal, juice, or other foods} until 6 months. Ok, we started a week before her 6 month birthday {close enough}.

Now though, she’s eating solids and we’re doing it a little differently.

Her go to is still breast milk. WHO recommends it for at least 2 years and the AAP says 1. No, you won’t see me on the cover of Time magazine breast-feeding my preschooler, but I 100% believe in the benefits of breast-feeding and I’m in no hurry to cut her off.

So, before she eats, she drinks. She fills up on breast milk and then we offer food.

As far as solid food goes… we’re doing Baby Led Weaning {BLW}.

BLW {short version} is this – letting your baby feed his or her self… with real food… with little or no intervention from you. It’s about as simple as that. You don’t spoon feed or give purees… you sit back and watch, and if you’re my husband you get a little freaked out by the mess.

Photobucket

You can read the full list of benefits here, but these are at the top of my list:

Photobucket

Because with BLW there’s no rush. She’s still getting the nutrients she needs from the breast milk so there’s no reason to just start shoving food in her mouth. Kennedy can “play” with her food… figure out food… LEARN by watching us eat the same food and make the connections. She already puts EVERYTHING in her mouth, so that’s where the food ends up. This way though, she can see what a particular food really looks like, feels like, and tastes like. From there, she can decide if she wants to eat it and how much… on her own. BLW babies end up being less picky eaters and I’m all for that.

Photobucket

Because it’s a hands off approach… you don’t put food in their mouth… they do. This helps develop hand-eye coordination and other motor skills. {Selfish moment} I get to eat while my food is still hot.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Because I don’t have to spend hours making baby food. Because I would do just that… because baby food from the store weirds me out. This way, what she’s eating is fresh and I know exactly what’s in it.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Because only I know how hungry I am, and only she knows how hungry she is. I’ve seen too many moms worried that their kid didn’t eat the whole jar of baby food and that doesn’t make sense to me. Why force feed them? With BLW, there’s no fighting and no “games” to try to get her to open her mouth. If she wants it, she eats it, and if she doesn’t… no big deal.

Photobucket

OK, but what about choking, right?

Here’s the cool thing. Babies have a very short gag reflex so they start gagging {not choking} long before an adult would. She can’t put something too far in her mouth or she gags {not chokes}. I’m trying to differentiate because they really are 2 different things. I’m not saying it’s not possible to choke, but it’s actually not as likely as you may think and she’s already got it figured out. There is also a decent amount of research out there that shows that babies who eat based on the BLW approach are LESS likely to choke than a baby who was spoon fed with purees.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Overall, it’s going really well and she actually eats more than I thought she would. So far, she’s had plain organic yogurnt, avocado, zucchini, bananas, broccoli, yellow squash, green beans, apples, pears, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, lettuce, pizza crust, and our Christmas Eve turkey dinner complete with stuffing, asparagus, and Brussel sprouts in a cranberry sauce.

SO… That’s what she’s eating and I think… I hope, this completes my BLW novel.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

5 thoughts on “What She’s Eating”

  1. I think I really like the idea of Baby led weaning–and anything that helps kids to not be such picky eaters is a great thing, in my book!

  2. Just came across your blog from @frommrstomama and I’m so excited. I’m a second year medical student with a baby girl who just turned 6 months. I haven’t had a chance to read much yet, but loving the BLW stuff. Like I said, looking forward to reading more between neuroscience exams an studying for boards, but also wanted to just throw out that we semi-followed Babywise and our LO has been sleeping through the night since 7 weeks (only 2 nights she hasnt gone 10-11 hrs straight through and she is exclusively BF). Of course, take everything with a grain of salt and do whatever feels best for YOUR family, but that’s just what worked best for us, especially since I had to get back to school. So excited to have come across this blog and can’t wait for study breaks so I can read more!

Leave a Reply

