Tired.

Why aren’t babies born with an innate love for sleep?! Why? They need so much of it that they should just WANT to sleep ALL. THE. TIME. especially at night.

I’m not sure why, but Kennedy has been fighting sleep like it is the worst kind of evil. That means that I’ve been functioning on 4 or so hours of sleep {in tiny-little-increments} for a while now.

I’m tired… and that’s putting it mildly.

Lately, my nights look like this…

She’s in bed by 8 and I’m in bed by 11… only to be woken up for her first night waking at 12. This is followed by another around 2:30 and again around 3:30-4 at which point I don’t have much fight left in me {and I have to get up for work in the morning} so she typically ends up in my room. She sleeps… and I do something that resembles sleep, but really I’m just laying there the whole time until I get up at 5:30.

We’ve been through this before, sleep regression, and it’s frustrating, SO frustrating, but my Grandma always tells me, “it’s only for a season” and she’s raised 5 babies so she must be right. Please let her be right! Kennedy will figure out how to sleep again… I just hope it’s sooner than later…

In the meantime, I’d like an IV drip of caffeine started… STAT.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

3 thoughts on “Tired.”

  1. Abbie is almost 13 months and STILL has that sleep schedule! I feel your pain! Hopefully it gets better for you guys asap!

  2. We’ve been dealing with it for awhile, too. We have a good night sprinkled in every now and then, but we have more nights with multiple wakings than not. It sucks. When you figure out how to do the IV drip, let me know!

Leave a Reply

