Day In The Life – Working Mom Style

I’ve done a few of these since Kennedy was born, but I just keep them in my drafts for me to look back on {I don’t always publish what I write}… I figured this time around I’d post it

5:30 – Wake up. I’ve usually already been up once around 4 to feed her and pump, but if for some reason I haven’t, I pump now.

Then I make coffee and have some quiet time before my day really starts.

6:30 – I start getting ready for work.

7:30 – wake up Kennedy and David. I feed Kennedy and then he gets her dressed and diaper changed while I load everything in the car and try to remember to brush my teeth.

7:45 – Leave the house. Drop Kennedy off at daycare and get to work around 8-8:15.

8:15 – begin staring at numbers

9:30 – pump

12 – I leave and go to daycare to feed Kennedy. We play for a little after she eats and I either hang out there for the full hour or I leave and run a quick errand.

2:30 – pump

5 – Leave work and pick up Kennedy.

5:20 – We get home. If she’s awake I feed her, and we try to go for a walk, but she usually still takes a nap around now and I let her sleep until about 6. While she sleeps I make her bottles for the next day and make dinner.

6 – I feed her and then we play for a little bit.

6:30 – We all eat dinner.

6:45 – She’s covered in food {BLW for the win!} and we head to the bathtub. I soap her up, David reads her stories, and we play.

7 – Diaper, pajamas, and some playtime before bed.

7:30-7:45 – we go to her room and rock in the rocking chair while I nurse her. She’s usually asleep in about 5 minutes, but I pray for her and then end up staring at her for a while ā¤

8 – I lay her down and the real work begins. I wash bottles and pump parts, get my pump ready for the next day, start diaper laundry/stuff diapers, make her food {usually steaming or baking fruits and veggies}, and get her daycare bag packed for the next day.

Then there's the general "house stuff" like folding laundry, washing dishes {who am I kidding… this means loading the dishwasher and running it}, cleaning the kitchen… whatever else needs to be done that day.

David usually finishes up work, helps me around the house, and contains the dogs in our bedroom so they don’t randomly freak out {normal occurrence} and wake Kennedy up.

Side note – if it's Monday we brush the cobwebs off the TV for the Bachelor… Couldn't tell you why, but we love this show.

10 – blog stuff.

11 – I usually collapse into bed around now and I sleep until either Kennedy or the alarm clock wakes me up the next day.

And that, my friends, is my day as a working mom with a 7 month old in a nutshell.

Published by

melissa0785

Iā€™m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

4 thoughts on “Day In The Life – Working Mom Style”

  1. Sounds similar to our day! I’m just jealous you can leave the house, drop Kennedy off at daycare and make it to work all within a half hour. I commute 40 minutes and it really messes with our mornings!

    1. That’s one of the things I love… I have a short commute and her daycare is right across the street from my office!

      Does he nap in the car? Sometimes I wish my commute was longer bc she always falls asleep and I end up waking her up a few minutes later…

      Melissa Sent from my iPhone

  2. Oh my goodness – I admire you & the fact that you can run on so little sleep/down time. I work 9-5 and have no kids and by the time I get home in the evening, all I want to do is sit down on the couch and think about nothing until bedtime! & I have to get 8+ hours of sleep a night. Lord help me when I have a baby!

Leave a Reply

