Hell On Rails

We live fairly close to some train tracks. When we first bought the house this wasn’t an issue because the tracks were never used. In fact, I have never once seen anyone stopped at the railroad crossing for an actual train.

The problem?

All the sudden… Trains. Several of them. EVERY. DAY.

The bigger problem?

They come at night. 11 o’clock to be exact. And the conductor… he’s whistle happy. I’m convinced that he thinks “let me blow this whistle ONE. MORE. TIME!… Just in case all the babies in a 50 mile radius aren’t awake yet.

There’s nothing worse to me right now than hearing that first whistle… my heart sinks and I hold my breath… getting more irritated with each whistle as they get louder and closer. I just stare at the video monitor waiting… waiting for her to wake up and start screaming.

I’m angry. Like plug my ears, stomp my feet, throw a temper tantrum kind of angry. Is there a place to file a noise complaint on trains? Or maybe I’ll just invite Mr. Conductor over and let HIM try to put Kennedy back to sleep and then we’ll see how many times he wants to blow that whistle.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

8 thoughts on “Hell On Rails”

  1. Oh no! My townhouse in college was right by the train tracks & I got to the point where I never even heard the thing anymore. Maybe she’ll eventually get to that point?

  2. OMG, that really stinks, that is so strange that they just started using it again. We have a train track in the next town from ours that had been shut down for about 5 years and a year ago they opened it up and its running again. It is nice to see it being used but Iused to live right next to the track and it actually rattled the knick knacks and pictures. I did however get used to it after awhile. It is not fun when they wake the baby, but when she gets older she will love to watch them go by. Well, hopefully.(if you haven’t tied up the conductor before then)HA!! Good Luck with Kennedy ,my daughter uses a sound machine.

  3. Oh my goodness I would be so frustrated! That’s he worst feeling as a mom, knowing that a loud noise is going to startle your peacefully sleeping baby! I’d be posting signs along the tracks to give hat conductor a piece of my mind!

Leave a Reply

