A Plan, For A Plan, That I Planned…

I’m a planner in most aspects of my life. My day-to-day, I don’t like plans… I couldn’t tell you what I’m doing today, let alone 2 weeks from now. I go with the flow, see how the day goes, and roll with the punches. Our future, thats another story. I need to know everything, figure out everything… NOW… yesterday… as soon as possible.

You’d laugh if I told you about the kind of calculations I do {I’m a numbers person} or weird super-detailed stuff that no one else would worry about, but I think about.

I’ve always said my over-planning was me trying to be super organized, but it also comes from a lack of trust.

I am slowly learning that as much as I try, I can’t predict the future. How boring would life be if we could! It doesn’t matter what I plan to do 5 years from now. What I plan to do tomorrow, even! Tomorrow is a new day. A day that I am not promised.

I’m not saying planning is wrong or that I’m going to stop planning. Planning is a good thing. Kennedy’s 1st birthday party… I’m planning it. Our financial future… I’m planning it.

But.

I’m learning to hold my plans loosely. I can white knuckle my plans until my fingers fall off, fight for things to go my way, but it’s not going to make my life go the way I planned it.

God tells me that He is always thinking about me. That He knows the number of hairs on my head. That He knows me… better than I know myself.

So, when He tells me that He has a plan for me. That those plans are good. I need to trust in that.

My plans are written pencil… until God writes them in pen.

A man’s heart plans his way, but the LORD determines his steps. Proverbs 16:9 HCSB

And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Matthew 10:30 NIV

Can a mother forget the infant at her breast,
walk away from the baby she bore?
But even if mothers forget,
I’d never forget you—never.
Look, I’ve written your names on the backs of my hands. Isaiah 49:16 MSG

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

2 thoughts on “A Plan, For A Plan, That I Planned…”

Leave a Reply

