Don’t Let It Slip On By

So why’d I do it? Why did I quit my job?

Here’s why.

I thought my plan for my life was pretty clear cut. I would have babies, but I’d also have my career.

Simple as that.

And then I had her and all the sudden, it sounded good in my head… made sense when I said it… confused the heck out of my heart.

Here’s the problem. I want the time. All of it. You see, my snuggly, mushy, newborn is a crawling, chattering, pre-toddler… and that only took 8 months. I don’t want the time to go faster than it already is because I’m rushing though life… and I am. Rushing. Rushing to work. Rushing home from work. Rushing everywhere. Rushing everything.

Being a full-time working mom. It’s doable, absolutely. But for me, there’s a price to pay. A price that I can’t put a value on and no salary could match.

My time with Kennedy is priceless.

If I kept at this pace, I’d miss it. Life. Time. Even worse… I’d wish it away.

I was a career girl, but now I’m a mommy. So I quit. Because I was blessed with the choice. Because I can’t get this time back. It’s now or never and I’m choosing now.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

11 thoughts on “Don’t Let It Slip On By”

  1. Good for you! I wish I could do the same, but unfortunately it’s not in the cards for us right now. I’m thankful to be only part-time so it’s the best of both worlds for us for now. Enjoy this time! What a blessing!

    1. I think part time really would be great… It’s not really an option with my job. I do plan to do some contract work from home and stuff so I’m not completely out of the game though πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. I gave up work after I had my daughter and since my children have got older have worked from home and part-time (so I am always there for school drop off and pick up) – for me it was totally the right choice and I don’t regret a minute of it.

    Kate x
    http://www.kateathome.com/

  3. Melissa, I am so happy for you, I chose the same with my life and can honestly say it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I never once regretted it and would do it again in a heartbeat. I loved being there for their every need and not having to have another be there in my place. You said it perfectly there is No price big enough not to be there for them. I think this is one of the best posts that I have read on a blog. (maybe because it is exactly what would have come from my mouth). Congratulations on your NEW JOB…

  4. I am a SAHM and I love every single moment of it! It is the hardest job you will ever love but also the most rewarding! It isn’t for everyone but it sure is for me! Good Luck sweets I know you will love it! PS my daughter wore Chevron grey just like your blog design to school today lol!

  5. Congrats! You will enjoy every minute! I am in the opposite boat…I am going to work outside the home full time in two weeks. My baby is 7 months old. I have so much guilt because I was SAHM with my older children until they started school. I feel so bad but I do not have a choice. 😦

    Enjoy your time at home, it is a hard job but you will love it!

    1. I’m sorry you have to go back 😦 I’m glad you were able to stay home with the other babies though… And to be honest, daycare isn’t terrible so he’ll be just fine πŸ™‚

      Melissa Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

