On Staying Home

A lot of people have been asking how I like staying at home with Kennedy. It’s still only been about 2 months, but here’s what I think…

It’s been an adjustment, and beginning was rough. We’ll start with that…

Rough because I’m pregnant and tired and sick. I was getting really frustrated with myself for not getting more done each day. It was especially annoying because those first few weeks I didn’t know I was pregnant… all I knew was taking care of Kennedy all day was ALL I could do and there was nothing left in me by 7:30 when she went to bed.

Rough because she started getting her top 2 teeth almost as soon as we started the stay-at-home gig. She was clingy, needy, and unhappy and wasn’t even acting like the Kennedy I knew.

Rough because we had to find a new routine. Her schedule didn’t change, aside from starting to take much longer naps, but mine… it changed completely.

I questioned the decision in the beginning more than a few times. Luckily, we both made it through the initial shock. I didn’t go running back to my job and she got some teeth {and stopped crying}.

Officially, I love staying home with her and I couldn’t be happier with my decision. I get to watch my baby grow up and I don’t have to miss 9 hours of her day {leaving me with a few tired hours in the evening}. I get the time and that’s what I wanted.

We still have bad days sometimes… I don’t want you to think it’s all rainbows and sunshine over here every day now. We have days where I’m ready for bedtime by lunch and if I wasn’t pregnant there’d be a big glass of wine in my hand that night.

I’m lucky though because I’ve been on both sides. I’ve been the full-time working mom {it’s not just something I dream about in my head} and I know what it’s like. I know what it’s like to leave my heart at daycare, to feel like I was choosing work over her, to be too busy to enjoy the time we did have. I know “mom-guilt” all too well and that makes it easy to remind myself why I chose this… even on the bad days.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

5 thoughts on “On Staying Home”

  1. I am so glad that you are feeling better and she finally got her teeth in. I remember that my kids would be so fussy and grumpy and I would think that I was failing at the job and then it would come to me OH maybe its their teeth coming in and then shortly after I would have my sweet babies back. Time is just so precious with each and every one of them.

  2. Thanks for keeping it real 🙂 I’m staying at home now and will after the baby comes, too. I’m excited to have the opportunity to watch our baby grow and not miss anything!

Leave a Reply

