Getting Wordy |DIY| painting over art

So I saw this blog post from Young House Love about a year ago and I was super excited to try it… except I didn’t have anything to try it with at the time.

And then! I got this old painting from one of David’s wannabe-storage-war trips and I knew exactly what I would do with it.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Maybe it’s by some super famous artist, but considering where it came from I highly doubt it and I was totally okay with a little re-do.

So, I taped it up and spray painted the frame

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Better already!

It actually took me a while to think of the wording for it. It needed to be short obviously, but enough to fill up the painting. I finally decided on “shine your light” which is a line from one of my favorite David Crowder songs and a good reminder of verses like Matthew 5:16 which says,

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Once I had the words I bought a pack of 3″ stencils from Hobby Lobby and used white acrylic paint for the letters

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I measured the frame and decided my spacing measurements for the letters, but I didn’t get super precise on this. I traced each letter in pencil and then filled it in with the paint.

{Sorry, but I don’t have any in progress shots of the actual painting part}

My finished product. I also realize I never did a new-paint-job post so here’s a pretty true version of the new color on our walls. It’s Elder White by Sherwin Williams, a super light “greige” {gray/beige}, and I love it.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Of course it wouldn’t be my house without some tiny shopping cart action.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Here’s the before and after.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I really want our house to be a place that we not only love to come home to, but also represents who we are as a family. Store bought is great, but so is adding some meaning to your walls πŸ™‚

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

8 thoughts on “Getting Wordy |DIY| painting over art”

    1. Oh, this took me forever to actually sit down and do! I spread the whole thing out over a couple days after bedtime too so that helped πŸ™‚ Just figure 1 thing at a time and eventually it’ll be decorated.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

