Oh, So You Want Me To Trust You… Message Received

I don’t know if you remember, but at the beginning of the year I picked trust as an area to focus on. I knew that word was always showing up for a reason, but wow… God has been throwing all kinds of curveballs at me this year, asking me to do all kinds of thing I didn’t plan, and all the while just asking me to trust Him.

I’m trying.

Just for recap sake here’s a few of the bigger “curveballs”…

• I quit my job. I was never positive it was the right decision and that’s why I kept dragging my feet about it. If it was me alone making this decision I’d still be at work, but I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Things just didn’t feel right and the constant back and forth just made me feel like I had to try it. Go against what I thought was right, for myself really, and trust that God had a better plan.

He was right and the funny thing, to me at least, is that I was pregnant during my last few weeks of work and didn’t know it. It’s truly been perfect timing having all these months to soak up this time with Kennedy, and David and I are so, so happy with the decision we made.

• I got pregnant with #2. I never told the story of #2 on the blog, but she’s definitely going to be arriving earlier than planned. David and I knew we wanted to have our babies close together {and we knew we weren’t preventing it in any way}, but we were thinking more like a November pregnancy announcement and instead, if all goes as it should, we’ll have a November delivery announcement.

I’ve always thought 2 under 2 was crazy and here I am. Not my plan, but again, He was right. The girls will be almost exactly 18 months apart and now, I’m so excited they’ll be so close in age and I can’t really picture spacing them out much further.

• {We} almost bought a new house… it was ours if we wanted it… and then at just about the last possible second, we let it go. It could have been perfect {eventually}, but we would have closed right about now so the timing was less than ideal with a new baby on the way and the more we prayed about it, the more we felt like it wasn’t the way to go. We had all these ideas for this house and it fit what we were looking for in so many ways, but this is just another area where we feel like God is asking us to trust Him, not rush the process, and be content where we are.

To say that trust was a good area for me to focus on this year is nothing short of an understatement! It’s good though, if there was nothing happening that forced me to really trust Him and than what would I actually learn, right?

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

3 thoughts on “Oh, So You Want Me To Trust You… Message Received”

  1. Love this post Melissa, it really made me think about a lot of things as I read this! Thank you, glad things are going well!

Leave a Reply

