How Does It Work?

When I was pregnant with Kennedy I wrote this post. Now I’m writing this post… it’s inevitable.

For the last 17 months it’s been the 3 of us. It’s been tiring and amazing and the best 17 months of my life so far. In 2 weeks or so, we’ll add a 4th person to our little family and while I’m so ready to meet my sweet, baby girl, I’m left wondering…

Wondering like I was before Kennedy got here and I tried to figure out what would happen to David and I. How would it change the dynamic? How we would find time for each other?

But this time, I’m not nervous for David and I. Really, I’m just wondering how it works.

How do you love 1 baby so much that you think that your heart might just explode and then you add a second and suddenly you love that baby just as much as the first?

How does a heart contain that amount of love?

I know it happens. People have been having more than one baby forever so it’s not like I’m in uncharted territory here. I guess it’s another one of those mysteries of parenthood. You simply can’t understand it… until you’re there. Until it happens to you.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

2 thoughts on “How Does It Work?”

  1. Thanks for referencing that post you wrote before, because that’s exactly what I feel now. I think it’s gotten worse since he’s in school now and I see him even less. That routine will carry on until Baby Mac is about 3 months old, so it will be interesting, to say the least. But I know as much as I worry that no one has ever complained after having the baby about missing out on time with their husband, right? Right?

Leave a Reply

