Why Two Is Harder

When I got pregnant with Reese all I heard about was how hard it was to go from 1 to 2. Now that she’s here, I agree, it’s hard… So I’ve been trying to put my finger on what exactly makes it so hard and here’s what I’ve come up with…

•Mom Guilt•
After I had Reese I felt really guilty about the time lost with Kennedy. Then I felt really guilty about all the snuggling that Reese didn’t get as a newborn that Kennedy did. Seriously, you can run, but you can’t hide… the mom guilt is everywhere!

 photo Sistergirls-5932_zpsa0d763f9.jpg

•Prioritizing Needs•
It’s no fun when both girls are upset, but it’s worse to have to decide who to help first. Obviously they both feel like they need to be taken care of first, but I don’t have enough arms, or clones, so choices have to be made. Kennedy also seems to get hurt while I’m feeding Reese and that’s just a whole other issue to try and take care of 1 while the other is attached to you.

 photo Sistergirls-5832_zps5274678b.jpg

•Leaving The House•
It’s insane. More so when they’re closer in age because there’s a high probability that you’ll be carrying the oldest in one arm, holding the baby in the infant carrier with the other, and dangling your purse from the hook you made with your finger. It looks precarious, and it is, but when someone asks if you need help it’s like a game of Jenga and you don’t know which piece to pull so you just say, “no thanks, I’ve got it.”

 photo Sistergirls-6211_zps7eaa9808.jpg

•Schedules•
It’s just plain hard to fit a newborn schedule into a toddler schedule. Kennedy has energy for DAYYYYS, but there’s only so much I can put Reese through. It’s very limiting, especially in the winter, because we used to spend so much time outside and it’s harder to do that with a baby when it’s cold. So, I have to try to find a balance… Getting the toddler enough play/learning time and getting the baby enough sleep so she doesn’t turn into a no-nap-monster.

 photo Sistergirls-6291_zps1165b9d6.jpg

•Sleep Deprivation•
When there’s just 1 baby you can sleep when the baby sleeps. When there’s more than one… just buy coffee in bulk.

Gosh, just simple math explains the difficulty… 2 of them… 1 of me.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

4 thoughts on “Why Two Is Harder”

  1. Ah! When I first saw the title of this I was scared to read haha! I will admit, those are all things I have thought of so at least I KNOW they will be hard, although I’m sure I can’t really fathom just HOW hard it’s going to be. I’m nervous, but I know I’ll get through it just like every other mom out there.

    The biggest thing I worry about is how I’m going to be able to keep Hayden occupied while I’m trying to nurse the new baby. I mean seriously, in those early newborn days you are feeding them constantly and I know he’s not going to like the fact that I’m stuck sitting in a chair and not playing with him. Any advice would be appreciated 🙂

    Also, do you need more Spark?! 😉

    1. Haha sorry to scare you 😉 having 2 definitely makes me think I had it so easy with one, but it’s just an adjustment and it is getting easier now that Reese is a little less needy and helpless 🙂 how close together are you thinking?

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

