Our 4th of July

This was Kennedy’s third and Reese’s first 4th of July, but for Reese it was a regular day. We didn’t do anything 4th of July-ish until after she went to bed. We decided not to do an actual fireworks show because they start so late and Kennedy is in a sort of fearful stage where everything scares her so we figured it could be a total disaster and we’d try next year.

We started with Bomb Pops because it’s not 4th of July without them… I think I called these Firecrackers when I was a kid though, did the name change?

 photo 4thofJuly-2-2_zpsf56aa162.jpg

 photo 4thofJuly-4-2_zpsb5b77177.jpg

anyways… I got my first “mommy take a my picture” when I handed her this. She was either really proud of her popsicle or she just knows the drill. Either way I thought it was kind of adorable.

 photo 4thofJuly-6_zps8fcb7b93.jpg

 photo 4thofJuly-5-2_zps2c3b3a04.jpg

After the popsicles {well Kennedy’s first popsicle because she may have talked me into a second one} we broke out the poppers and smoke bombs.

 photo 4thofJuly-1_zps87f9ab73.jpg

 photo 4thofJuly-2_zpsb8488d93.jpg

Even these warranted leg grabbing from her so I think we made the right decision to stay home…

 photo 4thofJuly-3_zpsbdbebaf4.jpg

We did a few of the fountain type fireworks from the driveway and the “shock and awe” faces were super cute

 photo 4thofJuly-5_zps42b8e6d5.jpg

 photo 4thofJuly-4_zpsa07c0ffa.jpg

we ended our night by singing “Happy Birthday” to America because the girl still wants to sing “Happy Birthday” every night since her birthday. I told her that we were celebrating America’s birthday and she just started singing… she never did ask who America was though.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

One thought on “Our 4th of July”

Leave a Reply

