That Time I Almost Threw In My DIY Towel

I like to make things or do little DIY projects for the girls for their birthdays and Christmas. It feels more genuine or something I guess… and I just like to make stuff in general… so for Kennedy’s birthday I decided to do a little Ikea Hack on this table and chair set that is so boring, but completely unfinished and just screaming for some DIY love.

I wanted simple. A few coats of spray paint, some gold, and chalkboard paint. I’m thinking give me a few hours and it’ll be perfect.

Wrong. So… so very wrong.

The seats and back of the chairs are white so I decided to do solid white with some gold color blocking on the legs of the chairs and then paint the tabletop with chalkboard paint. I laid out all the pieces and gave them A SINGLE COAT of spray paint and then left to go to my sister’s house for a while. I came back about 2 hours later, flipped them over and spray painted the other side.

My biggest mistake… not checking that the paint on the other side was dry, but COME ON its spray paint {which I use all the time} and it had been 2 HOURS!

So when I flipped it back over to do the second coat on the first side… it. looked. awful. There was stuff stuck all over it, the paint was gross, the stupid tarp was even coming off in pieces onto it.

Naturally, I just started freaking out which is the totally normal thing to do. I blame it on having been painting my kitchen cabinets for 3,000 hours the previous week and being so, so incredibly tired of paint, but really I was just a hot mess.

So first things first… in order to remedy the situation I went inside and got the rest of Kennedy’s birthday cake out of the fridge and a fork so I could eat cake whilst I RE-DID the stupid table. Sidenote: I don’t really even like cake… it’s the last dessert I’d pick, but it was all I had as far as sugar goes.

David thought this was hilarious so he took a picture to send to my mom….

 photo EA9795AC-AA51-49E6-879C-C1656B143C76_zpsnzrwrrhx.jpg

I can’t really explain how furious I was. I literally couldn’t even talk I was so irrationally upset. I was just trying to make a pretty little birthday present for my baby girl and I just wanted to throw it away. David was the calming force through the rest of the night and the next few nights were I ended up sanding the whole thing down and repainting several coats of white with a brush and real paint.

 photo DIYTable-3_zps0313ab57.jpg

 photo DIYTable-2_zpseb4336ed.jpg

 photo DIYTable-1_zpsbebf16f5.jpg

 photo DIYTable-4_zpsf968d914.jpg

So whatever, it’s done and I think it’s pretty cute, but I will forever hate this table. I hold grudges against inanimate objects and I’m ok with that. The things I do for these girls… I can’t wait until they read this one day.

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

3 thoughts on “That Time I Almost Threw In My DIY Towel”

  1. I’m sorry but I have to laugh because I can SO relate. The cake thing cracked me up too! I have been trying to repaint a crib and dresser for the new baby for going on like 3 months. I work on it when I feel like it but every time I do I just get frustrated so I don’t look at it again for weeks. At this rate it’ll never be finished.

    The table looks adorable though 🙂

    1. Oh if you saw me that night you would have died laughing I was a total basket case!

      You need to push the painting off on someone else and blame being too pregnant!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

