Ripple Effects And Rabbit Trails

My grandma sent my family and I an email the other day reminding us that 20 years ago my parents left everything and everyone they knew and moved to Florida. {yes, she’s awesome for keeping track of stuff like that}

It made me think about our trip down and I remembered weird stuff like how I memorized every word to every song from the Lion King, how my dad kept reminding my mom to stop tailgating him because she was following behind in the car, and how I got to drive in the truck with my dad and talk to all the truckers on the CB radio.

But I’ve spent the most time heading down this rabbit trail thinking about how the decisions we make have this huge ripple effect. You think you are making a decision for yourself, and you are essentially, but you don’t think about how they affect everyone around you.

It’s like a much more serious game of “6 degrees of Kevin Bacon”.

For me, my dad’s decision was huge.

My dad decided to be a pilot.

He decided to go to this specific school in Florida and moved my family across the country to go to this school.

My mom flew down to Florida to scout out the area before we moved and chose Lake Mary.

My parents met a couple while they were on a cruise before moving to Florida and guess what… they were from Lake Mary and they confirmed that Lake Mary was the place to be. {we even stayed with them when we first moved down}

We moved to Lake Mary, I met David, I married David, we had babies, we have this life together now all because of this ONE decision my dad made… to be a pilot.

My dad wasn’t thinking about my future husband when he made that decision, though I suspect he may have been praying about him back in the day. He didn’t know God was going to use this one decision to set the stage for the rest of my life.

It’s the ripple effect. It’s how God uses everything… the huge, important decisions and the seemingly insignificant. You don’t realize what’s even happening until you look back at it later and see all the puzzle pieces fall into place.

Your decisions are yours… you own them… you are responsible for them {the good and the bad}, but God uses them to do great things and I love that so much.

We know that all things work together for the good of those who love God: those who are called according to His purpose.
Romans 8:28 HCSB

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

Leave a Reply

