Happy Birthday, Reese

Reesey, Reesey. Where do I begin? I’m not sure how to talk about you being one when I don’t know how it happened. In some ways you have maintained your baby status so much longer because I see Kennedy and you seem so much smaller and younger. In other ways, this has been the fastest year of my life and you were literally born yesterday.

Sweet girl, you have taught me so much this year… far beyond how to function in a perpetual state of sleep deprivation. I’ve had to learn to parent all over again. Not the basics, obviously, but how to parent you. Learning who you are and what you need. Because it’s all different, no baby is the same, and I wouldn’t want it any other way. I love the personality you have. The dynamic you bring to our family. I love that you demand my attention. There is no forgetting about you!

My favorite quote for you all along has been “and though she be but little she is fierce” and it is so, so true. You are strong-willed, always ready for battle, loud and independent. You are energetic, ever curious, and fun-loving. Little, but fierce.

Reese, you are the most unexpected gift I’ve ever been given. Nothing about you is ordinary and life is better with you in it.

Happy 1st Birthday, baby girl!

Love,
Mommy

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

Leave a Reply

