Happy Birthday, Deer Reese!

I mentioned before that Fall birthdays are hard to think of ideas for. I had a hard time with Reese’s aside from knowing that I wanted it to be gold and I wanted to sparkle. all. the. things. I saw a birthday party that I loved the cake for here and it was a “deer” theme so I ran with that.

True to my style the invitations were way late. I let people know there was going to be a party on the 8th, but I couldn’t tell them a time because we had to wait for the time of the FSU game to be announced since we don’t miss games over here and a bunch of my family were going to the game. SO… I waited. and waited. and waited some more until they finally announced it and I quick told the invitation designer the time. I got them back the Friday before the party so I just sent a picture text of the invitation out to everyone. Digital era for the win.

 photo B32FBF9D-8FB7-42D1-A213-E47F5C3F648E_zpsyekkza1w.png

I like to keep the first birthday parties small. I feel like babies get really overwhelmed pretty quickly and I didn’t want Reese to be clingy and fussy. So it was just family and a few close friends. I kept food simple too and made a big chili bar with baked potatoes, french fries, hot dogs… basically anything you’d potentially put chili on.

I didn’t decorate much, just made a few signs, the little banner for Reese’s cake and her birthday outfit.

My brother’s girlfried baked and frosted Reese’s cake for me because she’s awesome and I love her forever for doing that because it turned out so cute!

 photo ReeseBirthday_zps7abae566.jpg

And let’s just talk about Reese’s birthday outfit for a minute. I wanted Deer pants. I couldn’t find deer pants. I very rarely take no for an answer so I made them myself. Much to the amusement of my husband, mom and sister because they thought I was insane. I might be, but I still wanted deer pants. The first pair actually got ruined by accident while I was making them so my sister went to old navy in the morning and bought a new pair and I. LOVE. THEM. So did everyone else once they saw them so there.

 photo ReeseBirthday-3-2_zps5d33ce3e.jpg

 photo ReeseBirthday-2-2_zps36a901aa.jpg

 photo ReeseBirthday-7_zpsd1e497b1.jpg

Reese’s cake smash didn’t go super well. I think she was getting really tired, but she ended up rubbing her eye and smashing cake and frosting all over them and she freaked out. Cake smash over.

 photo ReeseBirthday-2_zps5be7a502.jpg photo ReeseBirthday-3_zps846fbc41.jpg
 photo ReeseBirthday-5-2_zpsda305a0e.jpg

 photo ReeseBirthday-4_zpsa533ca6c.jpg
 photo ReeseBirthday-5_zpsbedf5677.jpg

and that’s about it. I still can’t believe she’s 1!

Published by

melissa0785

I’m a twenty-something wannabe city girl living in Tallahassee, FL with my husband and high school sweetheart, David, and our girls, Kennedy and Reese. I'm a financial analyst, much better with numbers than words, but this is my attempt at recording this wonderful, crazy life of ours.

Leave a Reply

